Reflections on Getting Old

I spent about six months this year talking about my 27th birthday in order to prepare myself for it.  Somehow 27 sounds soooooooo much older than 26 and it felt a little traumatic.  I’ve never really had trouble with the idea of growing older but the event of 27 shook me!

December came and went and with it my birthday.  It was okay, I survived.  But here are some reasons I’m right to be upset…

1.  I can no longer be in the under 25s category in X Factor.

Now I know that this happened a while ago really, but this year was the first time I actually got into watching the X Factor and therefore my mourning is a little delayed.

2. I can no longer host Blue Peter.

I just turned on the telly and saw the latest Blue Peter presenters and thought: “Gosh, they look awful young”.  Depressing.  Better get rid of that sticky-back plastic stockpile I’ve been building.

3. I can not design a fifty pence piece

This is related to the above.  Blue Peter’s latest competition is pretty cool.  Imagine having your design on the back of a 50p!  Brill.  Not me.  You have to be between the ages of 6 and 12.

Hopefully I’ll be able to compose a counter-active post with reasons why its good to get older sometime soon.  In the meantime,  I’m gonna go do some research about things that get better with age: wood, wine, cheese, wine, wine…

Leave a comment

Filed under random

Leave a Reply

