Flashback

“God’s got all the time in eternity.”

I’d forgotten you’d said that.  I wonder do you remember?  Its strange how these things take on new significance as God’s time goes on.  How many people have said “First time I saw her/him, I knew we’d get married” only once the ring is on the finger?  Its easy to be confident when looking back with new perspective.

This is similar, but not the same.  No rings are being exchanged here.  No definite, once-for-all ceremonies nor promise-giving and keeping.  No immediate change from one state to another.  No romance, no whirlwind.  Simply one more step along a path that I’m discovering began much longer ago than I ever knew.  I only see it now because time has passed over the shadows of before.

Leave a comment

Filed under change, God, perspective, story

Leave a Reply

